#FeatureFriday: Catching Up With Darienne Lake

Written by: Josh Schonewolf 

This week for our Feature Friday interview we decided to take a dive into Darienne Lake! After making a splash on RuPaul’s Drag Race Season 6, this queen certainly became someone we wanted to know more about. We caught up with her to find out what she’s been up to since the race, and what we can expect for her in the future. Check out our full interview with Darienne Lake below: 

Cover

Drag Official News: Let’s start off with the basics. Where are you from?

Darienne Lake: I moved from Long Island to Rochester, NY when I was 11. I’m currently scoping out all my life possibilities.

D.O.N.: How old were you when you started drag?

Darienne: I was 18. The summer after my first year of college.

D.O.N.: How did you get your drag name?

Darienne: I’m named after an amusement park in upstate NY and Ricki Lake.

D.O.N.: What style of drag would you describe yourself as?

Darienne: Glamour camp entertainer.

2

D.O.N.: What has your favorite place to visit and perform?

Darienne: I love Chicago. Actually all of the midwest has been so kind and generous. I have an affection for big cornfed boys.

D.O.N.: Now, the flip side of that question: Where’s somewhere that you haven’t performed that you want to?

Darienne: Australia, Brazil, anywhere really.

D.O.N.: Who are some of your biggest drag idols?

Darienne: Boy George, RuPaul, Bugs Bunny.

D.O.N.: Speaking of RuPaul, let’s chat about RuPaul’s Drag Race a little bit. What did your Drag Race experience teach you?

Darienne: That it’s not always what you say, it’s how you say it.

D.O.N.: We all know that editing is at least a small (if not a rather large) part of the Drag Race process. Is there anything that was said or done on Drag Race we didn’t get to see because it got edited out that you would want viewers to know about?

Darienne: That back around the turn of the century, during the Atkins craze, I lost 140 pounds. Realized that being thin was not holding me back from happiness, it was myself. I gained a good chunk (pun intended) back on. Learned how to love myself, and become even more fierce than I had imagined.

5

D.O.N.: It seems like you got the villain edit on Drag Race. How do you feel about that?

Darienne: Fuck them if they don’t like it, and fuck ’em twice if they do. People who know me, know the truth. I will admit that it was fun for tv. If I get picked for AllStars 2, I’m going full Omarosa.

D.O.N.: What Drag Race girls from all the seasons have you bonded with the most?

Dariene: So many of them are so chill and down to earth. Jiggly, Latrice, DiDa. The list goes on. But I’ve been friends with Pandora forever, so when we get together, it’s like putting on a comfy sweater.

D.O.N.: Do you still hear from Rupaul?

Darienne: Not since she got me pregnant.

D.O.N.: So, now that Drag Race is over, what’s next for Darienne Lake?

Darienne: My “Skinny Dipping with Darienne Lake” show at the Laurie Beechman Theatre September 12-14th. I will be telling hilarious stories of my life pre and post RuPaul’s Drag Race.

We had a great time sitting down and chatting with this queen, and we can’t wait to see where she goes in the future with the platform she’s been given from Drag Race! 

CONNECT WITH DARIENNE LAKE:
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM

FOLLOW DRAG OFFICIAL NEWS:
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
TUMBLR

2 thoughts on “#FeatureFriday: Catching Up With Darienne Lake

Leave a comment